Physician Certification Criteria

A physician must submit an application and be approved by the Patient Confidence Corporation of America (PCCA) medical advisory board prior to being allowed to provide VisionLock to their patients.

The following is a list of the key physician and practice training and educational areas that are reviewed.


1.      Board certification in ophthalmology

2.      Subspecialty trained

3.      Medical degree

4.      Fellow of the American College of Surgeons

5.      Internship completion date and location

6.      Residency location and completion date

7.      Fellowship training

8.      Academic appointments

9.      Hospital appointments

10.  Malpractice history

11.  Disciplinary actions

12.  License suspensions or revocations

13.  Number of years in practice

14.  Number of procedures performed to date

a.      LASIK

b.      Cataract

15.  Number of cases done/year

a.      LASIK

b.      Cataract

16.  Current continuing medical education (CME) status

17.  License or surgical privilege issues

18.  FDA clinical trial participation

19.  Peer reviewed publications

20.  General eye publications

21.  Community reputation

22.  Honors and awards




1.      Excimer laser system

2.      Phaco machine(s)

3.      Topography instruments

4.      Pachymeter

5.      Pupillometry

6.      Microkeratome

7.      Femtosecond laser systems

8.      Dry eye testing standards

9.      Sterilization standards

10.  Cleanliness standards

11.  Air quality control

12.  Record keeping system

13.  Outcomes measurement

14.  Referral network

15.  Patient education materials

16.  Trained Patient Educator


Additionally, once a physician is approved, patients provide ongoing feedback on their visual outcomes and experience in the practice. Practices that do not meet PCCA standards will not be allowed to continue to provide VisionLock Care Coverage.